Quick links
History of CUCG

The Ghana Catholic Bishops' Conference (GCBC) conceived the idea of establishing CUCG in 1997. The Launch of CUCG Fund took place in Accra on 20th December, 2001. The then President of Ghana Catholic Bishops' Conference of Ghana, His Eminence Peter Cardinal Appiah-Turkson, made public the decision of the GCBC for the establishment of CUCG on 15th January, 2002. 

The Catholic University College received its certificate of incorporation on 17th August, 2001. The University College is affiliated to the University of Ghana, Legon. The National Accreditation Board (NAB) granted CUCG the right to start university programmes in December 2002. Currently, the Catholic University College is also affiliated to the University of Cape Coast for its Bachelor and Post-graduate degrees as well as Diplomas in Education programmes. The BSc Actuarial Science, BSc Mathematics with Finance and BSc Mathematics with Economics degree programmes will also be awarded by the University of Cape Coast.

The first batch of fifty (50) pioneer students of the Catholic University College reported at the Pastoral Centre of the Sunyani Catholic Diocese on 3rd March, 2003.  The CUCG officially commenced lectures on 10th March, 2003 in three Faculties: Economics and Business Administration; Religious Studies; and Information Communication Sciences and Technology. The degree programmes the University started were BSc. Computer Science, BSc. Economics and Business Administration, and BA Religious Studies. 

The pioneer students were matriculated on 3rd May 2003. The second batch of 32 students was admitted on 3rd November, 2003. His Excellency, John Agyekum Kuffour officially commissioned the University on 13th November, 2003. Cardinal Ivan Dias performed the laying of the Foundation Stone ceremony on 25th April, 2007 at the University Campus at Fiapre-Sunyani. 

The Chancellor of Catholic University College is His Eminence Peter Cardinal Appiah Turkson. Professor James Hawkins Ephraim is the first Vice-Chancellor of the University. Most Rev. Matthew Kwasi Gyamfi is the Episcopal Chairman of the Catholic University College. Professor Michael Schultheis became the President of CUCG from 2003 to 2007 academic years. Rev. Msgr. Albert Kuuire was the first Registrar and Mr. Agana Banga, the first Finance Officer. The Out-gone Chairman of Board of Trustees (BOT) was Most Rev. Joseph Osei Bonsu while the Vice-Chairman was Dr. K. Donkor Fordjour. 

The following members constituted the old Board of Trustees of the University College: Archbishop (Emeritus) Akwasi Sarpong, Bishop Joseph Kweku Essien, Bishop Francis Lodonu and Bishop Paul Bemile. The rest are: Prof. Ebow Mensah, Prof. Alexander A. Kwapong, Prof. Kofi Kumado, Mr. Paul Kumahor, Rev. Fr. Gervase Angsotinege, Rev. Sr. Regina Kampo and Mrs. Cecilia Koufie. Mr. Ernest Kweku Appiah Odoom is the Secretary to the BOT. 

Currently, the following personalities form the new Board of Trustees (BOT) with Most Rev. Philip Naameh as the Chairman.  The Vice-Chairman is Mrs. Juliana Amonoo-Neizer.  The rest of the members include: Most Rev. Matthew Kwasi Gyamfi, Dr. Yaw Nsiah Peprah, Sir Dr. Kwame Donkor Fordwor, Msgr. John Opoku Agyemang, Prof. James Hawkins Ephraim, Rev. Sr. Elizabeth Amoako-Arhen, Sir Dave Anane Druyey, Mad. Nancy Florence Amapong Yelpoe, and Mr. Ernest  K. A. Odoom as Registrar/Secretary in Attendance.                         

Humble Beginning:
Sunyani Diocese, under the able leadership of the late Bishop Kwadwo Owusu, offered a temporary site for the commencement of the institution. The Catholic University started its programmes at the Sunyani Diocesan Pastoral Centre with a six-classroom block for lectures, an Assembly Hall and a small canteen for provision of food and other services.

The two other blocks housed the following: the Administrative and Academic staff, Library, Computer Laboratory and the Chaplaincy.  With strength of fifteen (15) academic and fourteen (14) administrative and supporting staff in March 2003, the University now has a labour force of over one hundred (100).  The University started with 50 pioneer students in 2003. Currently, Catholic University College has a student population of over (3500) starting the 2010/2011 academic year.

Development on campus:
After the foundation stone laying ceremony on 25th April, 2007 by Cardinal Ivan Diaz, the dream of moving to the permanent site came alive. The founding fathers committed huge investments in realizing that dream.  In the beginning of 2008/2009 academic year, the activities of the University started at the permanent campus under the leadership of the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. James Hawkins Ephraim. Though challenging and under very trying moments, the enthusiasm and cooperation of both staff and student was very commendable.

Serious attention is being focused on the infrastructural development of the campus to commensurate with the ever increasing student population with equally efficient, dynamic and experienced academic and administrative staff to impart holistic education to our beloved students. Current facilities include: a two-storey Resource Centre consisting of two large lecture theatres, three computer laboratories, a Library Complex and some offices for the Deans and lecturers; as well as a two-story Lecture Blocks “A” and “B”. The top floor of the Lecture Block ‘A’ presently houses the Administration.

Catholic University has student population of a little over 3500 on Full-time, Night and Weekend schedules. These include international students from Nigeria, Benin, Cameroun, Rwanda, Cote D’Ivoire, Togo, Burkina Faso, Liberia, etc pursing degree programmes in Five Faculties with variety of programme options available to students.

The Faculties are:
1.    Economics and Business Administration- EBA (BSc. Economics and Business Administration with options in: Management, Accounting, and Economics)
2.    Public Health and Allied Sciences-  PHAS (BSc. Public Health with options in Health Education, Health Informatics, and Health Management
3.    Information Communication Sciences and Technology- ICST (BSc. Computer Science; BSc. Actuarial Science; BSc. Mathematics with Finance and BSc. Mathematics with Economics)
4.    Education- EDU (BEd. with options in English, History, Geography, Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Christian Religious Education.
5.    Religious Studies-  RS (BA Religious Studies)

The University offers Master of Arts (MA) in Religious Studies and Pastoral Ministry as well as Graduate Diploma in Education.

The Faculties are headed by the following:
a)    Mr. George Compah-Keyeke is the Acting Dean of the Faculty of Economics and Business Administration (E&BA). Prof. Ebow Mensah was the first Dean of this faculty until 2011/2012 academic year.
b)     Mr. Dr. Kofi B. Barimah is the Acting Dean of the Public Health and Allied Sciences (PHAS).
c)    Fr. Dr. Peter Nkrumah Amponsah (PhD) is the Acting Dean of the Faculty of Information and Communication Sciences and Technology (ICST) since 1st July, 2010. Prof. Yeboah Amankwah was the first Dean of this faculty until 2004/2005 academic year. Mr. Patrick Ohemeng Gyaase then became the Acting Dean from 1st February, 2005 until 30th June, 2010.
d)    Msgr. Dr. Stephen Ntim (PhD) is the Acting Dean of the Faculty of Education.
e)    Rev. Fr. Dr. Patrick Nkrumah (PhD) is the Dean of the Faculty of Religious Studies.
f)    Dr. Anthony Bonnah Koomson (PhD) is the Acting Dean of the School of Research and Graduate Studies (SRGS).

In the near future, programmes such as BSc. Nursing; BSc. Environmental Science; BSc. Agriculture Science; and LLB Alternative Dispute Resolution would be introduced.

Catholic University college awaits you!!
University of Ghana University of Cape Coast
2012 SIFE Ghana National Champion